Tri-County Speedway

  • 1


Aerial shot of Tri County Speedway, Hudson, NC

June 3rd, Night at the Races


Tri-County Speedway

June 3rd, Night at the Races

Tri County fans saw nine races Saturday night on June 3rd. Eight was on the track and the ninth was
against Mother Nature. Fortunately, Mother Nature was last on the docket. The rain arrived with a
vengeance once the last winner’s circle interview was completed.

Race number one of the night was the Renegade Division. Dalton Ledbetter (#32) was fastest in
qualifying with a lap of 19.439. Ledbedder had to start eighth since the top eight qualifiers were
inverted. This made Gary Aldrich (#8) the first to see the green. Ledbedder overcame the invert,
winning the caution free race. Klint Townsend (#9) was second and Mike Shelton (#24) was third.

The next race was the Outlaw Division. Martin Nesbitt (#92) claimed the #1 position in qualifying. Once
again there was an invert. This time it was the top 4 cars in qualifying. There was 1 caution shown
during the race. It was brought out by Shane Lisk (#77) when he spun on the backstretch on lap 29. The
race ran without incident after that. Here again the fast qualifier overcame the invert and Martin
Nesbitt take the checkered. He was followed across the line closely by Ruben Carceras (#1X) in second.
Sheflon Clay (#15) rounded out the top 3.

Race number three was the Vintage Full Body Stock Cars. Bob Hapeman (#8) was fastest in qualifying
with a fast time of 16.937. Caution number one came out on lap 11 when Dennis Hinkle (#4) and Bob
Wallace (#35) came together on the front stretch. Hinkle spun after bouncing off the wall but was able
to continue. The second caution was caused by an apparent radiator hose malfunctioning on the Mark
Whitten (#39) car. The race was red flagged while the track was cleaned up. Hapeman went on to win
the race. Eddie Gilbert (#95) was second and Bob Wallace (#35) finished third.

The Front Wheel Drives had their turn on the track afterwards. Jason Garwood (#46) sped to a time of
19.003 to secure the pole. An invert of the top 8 was ordered, making Gary Willard (#54) the pole sitter.
Two cautions were waved during the race, both on lap 21. Garwood had an engine let go and the
second red flag of the night was shown to clean up the fluids left behind. Brandon Collins (#46X) and
Randy Hupp (#54) got together in turn 2 to bring out the second caution. The race finished under green
from that point. James Powell (#27) won the race. He was followed by Randy Hupp (#54) in second and
Donny Holland (#10) in third.

Race #5 of the night was the Limited Late Model Division. Darren Krantz, Jr (#1K) posted a lap time of
15.938. However, the top 4 were inverted. This placed Trey Canipe (#5) on the inside of row 1 for the
start of the race. There were subsequent cautions on laps 6 and 7. These were a result of Dustin Atkins
(#33) spinning in turn 2 on both occasions. The checkered flag waved for Krantz, a 12 YEAR OLD, that
drew the attention of many. Taylor Nesbitt (#92) had a strong run and finished second. Trey Canipe
(#5) followed in third.

Race 6 was the Street Stock Race. Davey Smart (#14) was fastest in qualifying with a speed of 17.056.
The top 4 were inverted. This placed Kolby Sawyers (#32) in the p1 position for the start of the race.
One caution waved on lap 7. Jeff Allen (#7) had the car come around on him on the front stretch. The
race was incident free from that point. Smart won the night’s event. Kevin Eby (#03) followed in second
and Mike Hatton (#32) rounded out the top 3.

The night’s feature event was the Late Model Division. This event carried a special incentive for Thomas
Beane (#28) and Dillon Houser (#11). Leap Frog offered a $100 bonus for whichever qualified better and
a $200 bonus for whichever driver finished the best. Beane was quickest in qualifying, claiming the pole
with a lap time of 15.656. Beane pocketed the $100 bonus offered there. However, the first 6 were
inverted. This meant Beane would have to work hard to claim the $200 bonus for best finisher, between
he and Houser. Tasha Kummer was the recipient of the pole as a result of the invert. One caution
marred the race and that was on lap 6. Kummer hit the wall in turn 1. Beane did manage to come back
and win the event claiming the $200 bonus also. Eugene Norton (#27) finished just ahead of Houser
who was third.

The Pro 4 Division was the last racing event of the night. Dennis Trivette (#57) was fastest in qualifying,
with a lap time of 18.080. However, his brother, Robbi Trivette (#11) claimed the win in the caution free
race. They were followed across the line by Rodney Trivette (#6) in third.

The Pro 4 Division completed the night’s racing. The Race Director’s race against Mother Nature was
barely won. As soon as the winner’s circle interview was over, the skies opened up. Once again, we
trust you had a great time at Tri County! We truly thank you for your support! Hope to see you next

Article Credit: Debbie Setzer

Submitted By: Rhonda Higgins

Back to News

Latest Photos

Appalachin Stone
Auto Zone
Big Ivy Guns
Bob Keens Auto Body
Caldwell Collision
Cars Plus Lenoir
Dan White Collision
Elite Auto Brokers
Emory Electric
EZ Way
Fastlane Towing
Fitness 247 Training
GCI Digital Marketing
GMS Racing
Carolina Custom Golf Carts
Heritage Finance
Hog Wild BBQ
Hooiser Tire
Jeffs Auto Sales
Little Caesers
Lee Faulk
Messer Heating and Cooling
Mountain Dew
Nutex Concepts
OReilly Auto Parts
Pike Construction
Price Roofing
PRW Chassis
Rainey Battery
Thin Red Line Firearms
Village Motors
Visit Lemoir
Western Carolina Garage Door
Wrench Rags
Weavervile Tire and Wheel
Black Bear Transmissions
Rock Auto - Tri-County