Tri-County Speedway

  • 1


Aerial shot of Tri County Speedway, Hudson, NC

2021 Championship Banquet


Tri-County Speedway

2021 Championship Banquet

On Saturday night February 5, 2022, Tri County Speedway held their first annual Championship Banquet at the Hub in Hudson, NC.
This was a wonderful night. It was nice to see all the racecar drivers with their families. The banquet had great food, great door prizes, and great fellowship. Hog Wild catered this event. As always, Derek and Ronnie provided a delicious meal.

Crate Payne was the master of ceremonies for the night. James Benfield recognized all of the Tri County Speedway Staff and workers. Each one was presented with a plaque for the 2021 racing season. Payne was correct in saying if it took a village to raise a child it must take a metropolis to run a race track. Many people helped to make the 2021 racing season successful!\

Several members of the staff were unable to attend due to illness. We ask that you continue to lift them up in prayer. Also several could not attend due to threating weather where they lived.

Keynote speaker, Michael McSwain, shared highlights of his racing career while working with Lake Speed, Cale Yarborough, and Ricky Rudd. McSwain encouraged everyone to be thankful! He also wanted fans and drivers to promote the sport of racing, as well as help Tri County Speedway!
Ronnie Setzer presented the Legend Car Awards. Daniel Wilk, #90, took 3rd place for the year. Alex Urbina, #19, took 2nd place. Joshua Hornina, #43, took 1st place for this division.

Doug Houser presented Renegade Awards. Justin Austin, #1, took 3rd place. William Aldred, #65, took 2nd place. Kyle Boice, #73, took 1st place for this division. Crew Chief of the year was Richard Pack for the Renegade division. William Aldred was Rookie of the Year for the 2021 season in the Renegades.

Houser also presented Front Wheel Drive Awards. Rayna Holland, #2, took 3rd place. Gary Willard, #54, took 2nd place. James Powell, #27, took first place. Crew Chief of the year for this division was James Powell, Sr. Brian Dodd took Rookie of the Year for the 2021 season in the Front Wheel Drive.

Chad Hunter presented the Street Stock Division Awards. Luke Fox, #94, was 3rd. Kevin Eby, #03, was 2nd. Davey Smart, #14, was 1st. Crew Chief for this division was Rick Perry. Dustin Atkins was Rookie of the Year for the 2021 season in Street Stock.

Crate Payne presented the Limited Late Model Awards. Austin Harris, #59, was 3rd place. Josh Goble, #65, was 2nd place. Zack Franks, #1, was 1st place. Crew Chief was Junior Franks for this division. Jeff Allen took Rookie of the Year for the 2021 season in Limited Late Model.

Payne also presented Late Model Awards. Jacob Heafner, #95, placed 3rd. Thomas Beane, #31/#28, took 2nd. Braden Rogers, #2, took 1st place. Crew Chief for this division was Michael Faulken. Jeff Sparks was Rookie of the Year for the 2021 season in the Late Model Division.
Shane Higgins presented the last award for the evening. Barry Arnette won the Sportsmanship Award for the 2021 season.

Tri County Speedway would like to thank everyone who helped with the racing banquet to make the event successful!

Tri County Speedway would also like to invite all race fans to come out to start the 2022 season with them on Saturday, April 2nd for the Back 2 The Track Race. Hope to see you there and stay safe!

Article Credit: Debbie Setzer

Submitted By: Rhonda Higgins

Back to News

Latest Photos

Appalachin Stone
Auto Zone
Big Ivy Guns
Bob Keens Auto Body
Caldwell Collision
Cars Plus Lenoir
Dan White Collision
Elite Auto Brokers
Emory Electric
EZ Way
Fastlane Towing
Fitness 247 Training
GCI Digital Marketing
GMS Racing
Carolina Custom Golf Carts
Heritage Finance
Hog Wild BBQ
Hooiser Tire
Jeffs Auto Sales
Little Caesers
Lee Faulk
Messer Heating and Cooling
Mountain Dew
Nutex Concepts
OReilly Auto Parts
Pike Construction
Price Roofing
PRW Chassis
Rainey Battery
Thin Red Line Firearms
Village Motors
Visit Lemoir
Western Carolina Garage Door
Wrench Rags
Weavervile Tire and Wheel
Black Bear Transmissions
Rock Auto - Tri-County